Anatomy of the eye

Home | Anatomy of the eye



Sclera: The thick, white outer wall of the eye. Commonly knows as the ‘whites’ of the eye.
Iris: The colored ring of tissues suspended behind the cornea and immediately in front of the eye lens; regulates the amount of light entering the eye by adjusting the size of pupil.
Cornea : The outer, transparent, dome-like structure that covers the iris, pupil and anterior chamber and it is a part of the eye’s focusing system.
Pupil:The iris has a small opening or aperture in the center called the Pupil, which dilates and constricts according to the external light.
Lens: The lens is a flexible, transparent structure that changes shape to focus images on the retina. The lens is suspended behind the iris by the zonular fibers.
Vitreous: The vitreous body is the large area between the lens and the retina. The vitreous body is filled with a viscous, clear jelly (the vitreous humor), which supports and protects the lens and the retina.
Choroid: Vascular layer beneath the retina. It nourishes the outer portion of the retina.
Optic Nerve: The bundle of  over one million nerve fibers that carries visual message from the retina to the brain.
Macula: The oval yellow sensitive spot near the center of the retina; provides vision for the work and reading.
Retina: The light – sensitive layer of tissues that lays at the back of the eyeball; and it sends visual message through the optic nerve  to the brain.